July 28, 2019
It’s a season for neighborhood get-togethers, family gatherings and evenings out with friends. These are usually highly anticipated and enjoyable events. Occasionally, though, things go poorly. Someone says the wrong thing, or a long-standing disagreement is brought up or someone has a bit too much to drink and turns belligerent. In a situation like this there will naturally be efforts to diffuse the situation; but sometimes those efforts fail, and things escalate.
We’ve all been there; words are exchanged, voices get raised, everyone else gets quiet as the angry voices get louder and things move quickly. Suddenly a battle of words devolves into flying fists and perhaps a visit from the police. Not the family barbecue anyone had planned. If punches are thrown, charges of assault and battery can be made against those involved in the fight.
If you were in this situation, facing legal charges for assault, would you know what to do or what happens next? You can learn more about assault and battery here. Finding yourself charged with any crime is upsetting and even frightening. If you or someone you care about is charged with a crime, you need to seek legal advice immediately. Having the name of an attorney available as soon as you need one takes one step out of a stressful process. If you or someone you know finds themselves in legal trouble, call or text us. Contant Law 617-227-8383.
Put Contant in your contacts.
July 12, 2019
In Massachusetts, possession of a small amount of marijuana is now legal; but there are still limits and restrictions on who can legally purchase and possess the drug. Currently, like alcohol, marijuana purchase, possession and use are restricted to those adults aged 21 and older. It is legal for any person over 21 to possess up to one ounce of marijuana for recreational use anywhere in the Commonwealth. The person may also lawfully possess up to ten ounces of marijuana in their primary residence. It is important to note that while possession of small amounts of marijuana in public has been legalized, it is still illegal to use it (i.e. smoke, vape, etc.) in public.
So, what happens when someone under 21 is found in possession of marijuana? There are two levels of penalty:
- If the person is over 18 and in possession of 2 ounces or less of marijuana, they will receive a non-criminal – or civil – citation with a fine of $100.
- If the person is under 18 years of age and in possession of 2 ounces or less of marijuana, they will receive the same type of citation with a fine of $100 plus they will be required to participate in an approved drug awareness program.
Read more about the recent changes in Massachusetts drug laws here.
Drug laws and penalties are continually changing and evolving. It is always best to seek legal advice about the law. If you or a family member are unsure of the legal consequence of a drug offense and need legal advice, call or text us. Contant Law 617-227-8383.
Put Contant in your contacts.